Happy and Sweaty

8 Jul

Most mornings, be it weekday or weekend, I wake up by 6 am.  I cannot sleep late- it’s my lot in life.  I’ve never really been able to.  In college, I’d mayyybe sleep until 9:30 or 10 once in a blue moon due to post-finals cramming exhaustion, but that’s really it.  I could come home from a night out at 4:30 am and by 8 I was awake.  My college boyfriend loved this about me.  That is a lie.

Yesterday I managed to sleep until 8 am for the first time in I don’t even know how long.  I was planing on going for a run later in the day.  I forgot that it was supposed to go up to 100 degrees.  Oops.  By the time I got around to looking at the thermometer before changing into my running clothes, itw as 95 degrees.  I don’t think I’ll ever be that ambitious.  I thought about running on the treadmill, but Chris and I had so many errands to run and were out all day that by the time we got back I realized it wasn’t happening.  I felt guilty but had such a headache from the heat and humidity, I really didn’t care all that much.

This morning I woke up at around 6:30.  I thought about going back to sleep but I needed to get my miles in and I wanted to do it before the temperature rose.  Daisy was being extra cute this morning, hopping around and following me like “don’t go, stay and play with me!!”  But I left (homegirl was pisssssed) and knocked out 5.4 miles.  It was humid and I was soaked when I got back, and towards the end of my run there was this slight, never-ending incline that reminded me of my dreaded Brooklyn Bridge runs, but for the most part I felt really good during the run.  My quad feels so much better.  I do have some pain on the inside of my left knee though so I iced it afterwards.  Running 5.4 miles through hilly Holmdel helped give me confidence that I can do 5 miles in flat Belmar next week.  I can.  I just have to remind myself that I’m not doing this to win, there is no chance in hell of me winning, so I better not start out trying to chase the people in front running sub 7 minute miles.  I get really competitive, sometimes to the point of utter stupidity.

After my run I made myself a green smoothie and ate a hardboiled egg for protein.  I’ve become obsessed with green smoothies in the last month or so.  I usually make them with vanilla soy or almond milk, chia seeds, a little peanut butter, a huge handful or 2 of spinach, strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, and a banana.  I use frozen fruit, including the banana, so it has a milkshake consistency and is just heavenly.  They’re so delicious, even when I use a lot of spinach and they’re not very pretty to look at.  I love having them post-run.  They make me feel so good.  And cold.   Sometimes I’ll have one for dinner on days when it’s so hot the thought of eating makes me nauseous.  I love feeling like I’m doing something good for my body.

And now it’s a beautiful day out.  I have a few more errands to run and I’m happy to go outside and do them.  A Frasier marathon on the Hallmark channel (don’t judge) awaits my return.  Maybe I’ll get a salad from Whole Foods for lunch.  Then it’s back to Brooklyn later.    I’ve had such a nice weekend and I don’t want it to end, but I also realize how lucky I am to have a job that I enjoy.  It makes Mondays a little bit easier to stomach.

Leave a Reply

