4th of July

4 Jul

My loves

Happy 4th of July!  I know a lot of people are bitter that it falls in the middle of the week, but I’ll take any day off I can get.  We don’t leave for our honeymoon until August 17 so I went from wedding craziness straight back to work.  Well, I took that Monday off.  I live on the edge.

I so wanted to sleep in a little today but as usual my body and mind won’t let me.  Neither will Daisy (my dog).  I woke up at 5:45, the time I normally wake up during the week.  I thought about trying to go back to sleep, but as soon as she sensed movement from me, Daisy started her morning ritual of sniffing, sneezing, grunting, and running around until I acknowledged her.  Who needs an alarm clock when I have my own personal rooster?  Usually once I get up, Daisy does a little happy dance, rolls over for a belly rub, then walks over to her little bed and goes back to sleep.  Once I’m up, I’m up for the rest of the day.  Ugh.

I actually like getting up early on days I don’t have to go to work.  I made myself a whole wheat english muffin with peanut butter and Sarabeth’s strawberry peach fruit preserves (heaven in a jar) and sprinkled some chia seeds on top.  I also had a few slices of apple on the side.

Since my gym is rude and closed for the holiday, I went to a 9:30 Refine class.  I won’t say it was easier, because that would be a lie and lying is bad.  I was definitely more comfortable in this class than I was on Friday.  I think because I knew how to adjust the pulley system and had some idea s to the flow of the class.  I’m much better when I’m not in the dark.  In today’s class, it was still hard as anything, but I wasn’t watching others as much, unless I was confused about what we were supposed to be doing and needed guidance.

The only issue during class was when we were doing jump squats, my IT Band let me know it was not thrilled.  It hurt.  I was probably using bad form, because when we did squats at a slower pace with out the jumps and I could pay more attention to my form, it hurt less.  Still, that pain made me a bit nervous, so when I got home from class, some extra stretching, ice, advil, and a banana were in order.  It feels a bit better now, but still doesn’t feel great.  I’m going to see how it is tomorrow.  I’m signed up for class on Friday, but if it still hurts, I may just wait until Tuesday to go back.  I really don’t want to injure myself.  Does anyone?  I’ve come too far in my fitness journey the last couple of months to be sidelined by injury.  I have to keep reminding myself of that, because I’ll push myself to the breaking point if allowed to.

After class, I came home, showered, and Chris and I walked Daisy around the block.  It’s a little hot for her out there.  Then Chris and I grabbed lunch at a bar in the neighborhood.  I had a veggie burger that was just meh, but it was still nice to be able to hang out and be able to have lunch with Chris on a Wednesday.  I used to always feel like I had to do something festive on 4th of July.  Beach, Prospect Park, BBQ,  rooftop drinking.  All fun.  Today, though, a day at home with my little family is just what I need.

 

 

Leave a Reply

