Monday. Sigh.

2 Jul

I ended up taking it easy yesterday.  I hobbled over to Trader Joe’s, hobbled over to Rite Aid, and got stuck in a squatting position while greeting my dog after returning home from those aforementioned errands.  I apologize to my neighbors for the hair raising howl that ensued.  Even at 2pm I was still thinking “oh I’ll just wait until 4 and then run on the treadmill.”  My husband Chris advised me I was being an idiot.  He’s so wise.  Even though I listened to Chris, I felt guilty about not exercising and not performing the activity I said I was going to do that day.  It’s something I need to work on, not pushing myself to the point of injury or burnout because I feel guilty about not doing something.   It’s hard though.  I’m Jewish.  I thrive on guilt.

Since I’m trying to get regular runs in before the Belmar 5, I got up this morning at 5:45 and headed out.  I really do love getting out when most of the city is still sleeping, or just starting their day.  A run is so much better without having to dodge strollers, groups of 10 who take up the entire sidewalk, food carts and the resulting lines, people who text while walking, wayward children and the like.  I swear I’m not a misanthrope.  Well, only when running.  I really wanted to take it easy so I only did 3.4 miles.  The first mile was a little unpleasant.  I’m still pretty sore (seriously, Refine, WTF?!?) so it took a while for my muscles to loosen and for me to hit my stride. I stuck with it though.  I ran up Everitt Street, the part of the run I fondly call “heart attack hill” even though I told myself I could walk it if I was really hurting.  It’s really amazing to me how much better I’ve been getting with sticking with running.  Or really anything.  I’m always so quick to say “this is hard, this sucks, I can’t do this, Fin.”  It’s probably the quality I like least about myself.  It’s not laziness, it’s fear of failure and fear of disappointing myself and others.  If I don’t try, I don’t fail.  But if I don’t try, I don’t ever succeed.  See, I’m almost as wise as Chris.

This weekend was pretty low key, but it was a much needed boring weekend.  Last weekend was our wedding and the weekend before I was at my parents’ in New Jersey, running tons of pre-wedding errands and celebrating Father’s Day.  Life was a bit of a whirlwind (albeit a happy one) for a while there, so it was nice to just chill out.  I wanted to be bored.  While I wasn’t bored, I was relaxed.  Saturday we went to the gym early, had brunch at the diner, and then later in the afternoon went to the Brooklyn Heights Wine Bar for a bit followed by ordering in sushi and watching Hot Shots: Part Deux (oh Charlie Sheen, the years have not been kind). Yesterday we ran errands and Chris made dinner for us– this stew that I love with eggplant, lentils, tomatoes, and seitan.  I love that he’s been so great about vegetarian-izing meals for me without complaint.  I love that I’ve never had to ask.    I love that I have food for lunch this week.  So much love.  After dinner we watched 21 Jump Street, which I actually really enjoyed, but I have the sense of humor of a 17 year old boy (see: Hot Shots Part Deux Saturday night).

And now it’s Monday.  It’s a holiday week and work is always pretty slow in the summer so Mondays aren’t so depressing, but after a weekend at home, especially one that’s mostly spent vegging, I miss my husband, I miss my dog, and I miss my bed.  Oh how I miss my bed.

 

Who wouldn’t want to stay home with this little mush?

Leave a Reply

