Running on Empty

26 Jun

I got married on Saturday at Bridgewaters in the South Street Seaport.  The ceremony was incredible (and blissfully short) and the party was beyond my wildest dreams.  I did not stop smiling for 6 straight hours.  The weather was perfect and I had my trusty Havaianas,  so we decided to forgo waiting for one of the shuttle busses my mom hired to take us back to the hotel and walked the five blocks.  Then exhaustion sent in. 

Our ceremony was exactly twelve minutes long.  Short, sweet, and to the point.  Plus, it meant more time for the cocktail hour, which I believe is the main reason people attend weddings in the first place.

Our ceremony was exactly twelve minutes long. Short, sweet, and to the point. Plus, it meant more time for the cocktail hour, which I believe is the main reason people attend weddings in the first place.

I have not been this physically and mentally exhausted since I took the bar exam four years ago.  Even that was more mental exhaustion than physical, feeling like if I learned one more thing I’d be like Kelly Bundy in that episode of Married with Children where she was a contestant on Jeopardy and literally forget everything  she knew.   Now, my body is exhausted.  My legs hurt from wearing heels all day and night (and traipsing around the Seaport).  I can barely string together sentences, which has been really great at work today when everyone’s out and I’m answering the phones in gibberish (we’re not leaving for our honeymoon until August).  This morning, I went on a 3.5 mile run.  I ran it at my usual pace, nothing too strenuous.  I actually felt pretty good during the run, although I kept it simple with a route I’ve done a lot which led to a bit of boredom towards the end.   Running helped clear my head a bit, but my body is not pleased with me right now.  It’s not so much into movement today.

I wouldn’t change one second of my wedding.  It was the most unbelievable experience to marry the man of my dreams and have everyone I love there to celebrate with me.  However, now I know why people go straight to the Caribbean and pass out on a beach chair for a week after their wedding.

Leave a Reply

